Find us on Google+

Dr. Mustafa Lecky Named INEC National Commissioner

The Galadima of Auchi Kingdom, Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky made the list of the five new National Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) named by President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday, following the appointment of Prof. Mahmood Yakubu as the National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The appointment was approved at the first meeting of the Council of State presided over by President Buhari.

The five national commissioners are:

  1. Mrs. Amina Zakari (North-West);
  2. Dr. Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine (North Central);
  3. Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (North-East);
  4. Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky (South-South) and
  5. Mr. Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (South-West).

The South-East is said to still have a sitting national commissioner.

Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky is an action-driven intellectual and philanthropist, a graduate of University of California and Harvard University. He is a one time Executive Secretary of the National Health Insurance Scheme (NHIS) where he implemented far-reaching reforms that eventually endeared the Scheme to Nigerians.

We at AfemaiPeople wish him the best in his new calling.

One Response to Dr. Mustafa Lecky Named INEC National Commissioner

  1. By the name one would think he is from the North again! I wish him memorable tenure in office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *